Driving under the influence of alcohol is a serious crime in Georgia. Punishment after a conviction could range depending on the discretion of a judge.
In addition to sentences that could assign jail time, fines, mandatory education and community service, DUI also typically results in significant periods of license suspension. This article will look at potential suspensions for a first offense and possible remedies for people who need to drive.
The law assigns different types of suspensions to different types of DUI offenses. One of the most important factors is the number of recent DUIs a person has on their record.
For an adult over 21 years of age’s first offense in 5 years, the suspension term is 12 months. However, the Department of Driver Services may reinstate licenses early under the following three conditions:
- The person completes DUI school
- The DDS receives its fee
- 120 days have passed since the suspension
Reinstatement is not automatic. Drivers must apply.
During a driver’s license suspension, it is possible in some cases for people to obtain a limited permit. This is a potential remedy for people who need to drive in order to avoid undue hardship.
This type of driving permit typically has limitations on where, when and why a person may drive. One of the most common examples is a permit that limits driving privileges to the hours and routes associated with a commute to and from work.
DUI arrests and convictions typically have a profound impact on a person’s life. However, the aim of the courts is generally to create a safe environment for all Georgia motorists — not to categorically remove DUI offenders from the roadways.