Personal Attention, Aggressive And Accomplished Advocacy

Attorney Katherine A. Gonos
  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Drunk Driving
  4.  » What are the penalties for drunk driving in Georgia?

What are the penalties for drunk driving in Georgia?

On Behalf of | Aug 10, 2023 | Drunk Driving |

Even responsible people can find themselves driving while intoxicated after having one too many drinks. In this case, you may face stiff drunk driving penalties in the state of Georgia, which can lead to major legal issues.

While you should always try to avoid drunk driving, you should also be aware of the possible penalties in the event you face a charge. Here are a few possible outcomes that can occur based on the number of offenses.

First offense

Even first DUI offenses can carry stiff penalties. For example, you may pay a fine ranging between $300 and $1,000, as well as a jail term between one day and one year, with a mandatory 24-hour sentence regardless of the situation. You can also face a license suspension of up to one year.

Second offense

Penalties elevate by the second DUI offense. In this case, you could receive a license suspension of one to three years. When it comes to jail time, sentences can range between 90 days and one year in jail, with a mandatory 72-hour sentence regardless of the actual term. As for fines, amounts range from $600 to $1,000 depending on the circumstances.

Third offense

By the third DUI offense, jail terms can last up to one year, with a mandatory 15-day sentence. Fine amounts vary from $1,000 to $5,000, while license suspension periods will total five years.

There are also non-criminal penalties that can apply to DUI charges. You may need to attend alcohol counseling sessions, install an ignition interlock device, or forfeit your vehicle completely. These penalties can become a factor after subsequent DUI offenses in a certain number of years.